IPPSA 28th Annual Conference. November 13-15, 2022. The Fairmont Banff Springs, Banff, Alberta

Brian Vaasjo

Brian Vaasjo

President and Chief Executive Officer
Capital Power

Brian Vaasjo is the President and CEO of Capital Power and has been since the company’s initial public offering in July 2009. Under his leadership, Capital Power has become Alberta’s leading developer of new power generation and has successfully acquired and developed new renewable power projects in B.C., Ontario, and the United States.

Brian possesses over 40 years of industry experience, which includes time as Executive Vice President of EPCOR and as President of EPCOR’s Energy Division. At EPCOR, he was responsible for regional power generation (including clean coal initiatives), water operations and the growth of EPCOR‘s competitive power and water businesses across North America, as well as development and acquisition. He also was with the Enbridge Group of Companies for 19 years, during which time he played a substantial role in acquisitions, developments, and public offerings.

Brian holds an MBA from the University of Alberta, where he also received his undergraduate degree. He attended the University of Western Ontario Executive Program and is a Fellow of the Society of the Chartered Professional Accountants.  Brian and his wife Dawn live in Edmonton and have three adult children.

Board Experience

For Profit

  • Capital Power Corporation, Board Member, 2009 to Present
  • Capital Power Income LP, Chairman, 2009 to 2011
    • Board Member, 2005 to 2009
  • Numerous internal Boards

Not for Profit

  • Alberta Health Services Board Member 2019 to Present
  • Shock Trauma Air Rescue Society (STARS), Chairman, 2011 to 2014
    • Board member, various committees including Chair of Audit, 2008 to 2011
  • United Way of the Alberta Capital Region, Chairman, 2006 &2007
    • Board member, various committees including Audit 2004 to 2006
  • Citadel Theatre, Board member, 2003 to 2005
  • Society of Management Accountants of Alberta, Provincial Board member, 2001 to 2004