IPPSA 29th Annual Conference. March 12-14, 2023. The Fairmont Banff Springs, Banff, Alberta

Miranda Keating Erickson

Miranda Keating Erickson

Vice President, Markets
Alberta Electric System Operator (AESO)

Miranda Keating Erickson was appointed Vice President, Markets for the Alberta Electric System Operator (AESO) in November 2017. She is accountable for the design and monitoring of pricing signals in Alberta’s electricity markets, as well as tariffs, corporate economics, executing large-scale procurements and overseeing the resulting commercial agreements, and forecasting of Alberta’s future electricity needs. Since joining the AESO in February 2010, Mrs. Keating Erickson has held several roles of increasing responsibility including her most recent roles of Vice-President, Regulatory and External Affairs and Vice-President, Operations. She is part of the AESO’s leadership team, which is responsible for ensuring the reliable operation of the electricity grid and wholesale electricity market in support of Alberta’s $300-billion economy.

Mrs. Keating Erickson has more than 20 years of experience in the electricity industry in Alberta including previous roles with TransAlta, where she had a wide range of experiences and provided leadership in the areas of operations, investor relations, trading, project management, and commercial management.

In addition to having a breadth of knowledge of Alberta’s electricity sector, Mrs. Keating Erickson also sits on the VIA Rail Board of Directors and has been active for more than 15 years with the McGill Alumni Association, where she is currently a member of the Desautels Global Experts program. Mrs. Keating Erickson has a strong history of contributing to the community through her involvement with AIESEC, where she has been acting in an advisory capacity for more than 20 years, and also currently acts as a member of the AIESEC International Supervisory Group.

Mrs. Keating Erickson holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from McGill University in Montreal, a Project Management Professional designation and the ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors.